(Approved, February 13, 2019)

January 9, 2019

Board Members Present: James Allen, Daniel Blake, Pamela Bourgeois, John Clendenning, Doris Helfer, Catherine Jeppson, Robert Kiddoo, Sharon Klein, Virginia Lussier, Patrick Nichelson, Phyllis Russell, Eugene Turner.

Members Excused: Carolyn Arthur, Ann Perkins, Diane Schwartz, Barbara Swerkes.

Monthly Business

- 1. Call to Order: President Jeppson called the meeting to order at 11:09 a.m.
- 2. Formal Adoption of the Agenda: Daniel Blake requested that there be a discussion of the ARF Mailing Policy added to the Agenda under New Business. Catherine Jeppson requested the addition of two items: ARF Notes Distribution Protocol and Composition of the Awards Committee. MSP to adopt the Agenda as amended.
- 3. Approval of Minutes, November 14, 2018: Two errors were noted. **MSP** to approve the Minutes as corrected.
- 4. President's Announcements. President Jeppson noted that we need a replacement for Diane Schwartz as ARF Representative to the Faculty Senate. Sharon Klein volunteered and Board approved the replacement.

Reports

- 1. Treasurer: Daniel Blake. ARF finances continue to be healthy. Income from October 10 through November 12, 2018, was \$5,700.25. Expenses for the same period: \$874.56. Overall Net Income: \$4,825.69.
- 2. Program Chair: Sharon Klein.
 - a. Plans for the annual banquet are set. Expected attendance: 64.

- b. Upcoming events. Speakers: February 13, Robert Landau (Rock,n, Roll Billboards on the Sunset Strip); March 15, Robert Gohstand (Back to the USSR: a Nostalgic Look at the Soviet Union). Field Trip: April 10, Getty Villa. Awards Brunch: May 11, OGB. Picnic: June 1, Arbor Grill Court.
- c. Planning for 2019-20. The Program Committee is considering several possibilities, including: (1) a scientist from JPL on robotics,
 (2) movies of the 1960's, (3) Jolene Koester on higher education.
 Daniel Blake suggested we seek a speaker on the future of libraries.
- 3. Membership Chair: Diane Schwartz. While Diane is recovering from a stroke, Daniel Blake is covering this area. Membership rosters have been posted, and letters of thanks have been sent to donors.
- 4. Newsletter (ARF Notes) Editor: Ann Perkins. No Report.
- 5. Historian: Doris Helfer. The University Library is happy to receive the ARF Archives. To accomplish the transfer we need to execute a deed of gift. **MSP** to donate the ARF Archives to the CSUN Library.
- 6. Webmaster: Eugene Turner. The Board discussed policies regarding obituaries. Since this is a complex matter, it was **MSP** that the President appoint an ad hoc committee to devise a policy regarding ways of honoring deceased faculty.
- 7. CSUN Faculty Senate Representative: Diane Schwartz. No Report. Sharon Klein volunteered to be Diane's temporary replacement.

Old Business None

New Business

- 1. *ARF Notes* Distribution Protocol. Patrick Nichelson proposed the following protocol which was adopted by the Executive Board.
 - a. Newsletter Editor sends an electronic version of *ARF Notes* to the Webmaster.

- b. The Webmaster posts it on the ARF website and sends to all members, via the ARF List Serve, the link to *ARF Notes*.
- c. The Newsletter Editor has the mail room send hard copies to all ARF members who request delivery via USPS. Members who request an electronic-copy-ONLY will not be included in this postal mailing.
- d. Over the following two weeks the President sends, via the ARF List Serve, two mails to the membership—including those not getting *ARF Notes* by USPS—reminding them that *ARF Notes* is now available on the ARF website and providing them with the direct link to the newsletter.
- e. This protocol pertains only the distribution of *ARF Notes*. All members receive hard copies of the ARF Roster, notice of the Annual Banquet, the Awards Brunch, the Picnic, and postcard reminders of speaker events.
- 2. Awards Committee Membership. President Jeppson announced the following membership of the 2018-19 Awards Committee: Tim Fox (Chair), James Allen, John Clendenning, Gary Lobb, and Virginia Lussier.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John Clendenning, Secretary

Minutes, ARF Executive Board

(Approved, March 13, 2019)

February 13, 2019

Board Members Present: James Allen, Carolyn Arthur, Daniel Blake, Pamela Bourgeois, John Clendenning, Doris Helfer, Catherine Jeppson, Robert Kiddoo, Sharon Klein, Virginia Lussier, Patrick Nichelson, Ann Perkins, Phyllis Russell, Eugene Turner.

Guest Present: Timothy Fox (Chair, ARF Memorial Awards Committee)

Members Excused: Diane Schwartz, Barbara Swerkes.

Monthly Business

- 1. Call to Order. President Jeppson called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m.
- 2. Formal Adoption of the Agenda: **MSP** to adopt the Agenda.
- 3. Approval of Minutes, January 9, 2019: **MSP** to approve the Minutes.
- 4. President's Announcements.
 - a. In response to a question from ERFSA regarding the amount of money that ARF donates to winners of the Memorial Awards competition. Answer: we currently give \$2,000.00 to each of the winners annually for a total of \$8,000.00.
 - b. Nominations Committee for the 2019/20 Executive Board: Catherine Jeppson, Pamela Bourgeois, Patrick Nichelson. Those who wish to volunteer for service on the Executive Committee should contact President Jeppson.
 - c. Future Meetings of the Executive Board:
 - i. Friday, March 15, 2019, 11 a.m. in the Colleagues' Room of the Marketplace:
 - ii. Tuesday, April 9, 2019, 11 a.m. in the OGB. At this meeting the Board will consider the recommendations of the Memorial Awards Committee. The Program Committee will meet at 10 a.m.
 - d. President Jeppson announced The Richard W. Smith Lecture by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz (March 20 at 7 p.m.): "The Culture of Conquest: An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States."

Reports

- 1. Treasurer: Daniel Blake. We have come to that time of the year when expenses exceed income. This mainly is a consequence of an imbalance between income from membership dues and costs related to the Annual Banquet. Total Income: \$3,321.06. Total Expenses: \$3,776.58. Overall Net Income: -\$455.52.
- 2. Program Chair: Sharon Klein. All programs for the current year are on track. Planning for programs in 2019/20 continues.

- 3. Membership Chair: Daniel Blake, Interim Chair. No report.
- 4. Newsletter (*ARF Notes*): Ann Perkins. The next newsletter will contain information relating to:
 - a. the presentation by Robert Gohstand on March 15, including parking and transportation,
 - b. upcoming campus-wide events,
 - c. obituaries of deceased faculty,
 - d. meetings of the University Faculty Senate.
- 5. Historian: Doris Helfer. Doris has been gathering data from Bonita Campbell and Christine Smith, previous ARF Historians. One ongoing project concerns the achievements of memorial project awardees after they leave CSUN. Doris is also working with April Feldman, the University Archivist, on the transfer, via a "Gift of Deed," of the ARF Archives to the University.
- 6. Webmaster: Eugene Turner. The webpage for 2019 has been updated.
- 7. University Faculty Senate Representative: Sharon Klein, Interim Representative. No report. The Senate will meet on February 14.

Old Business

- **1.** The University Faculty Senate is still seeking a Parliamentarian. Send recommendations to President Jeppson. Donald Cameron has been recommended.
- 2. Timothy Fox suggested that the winners of the Memorial Projects competition be selected by the ARF Executive Committee by email. James Allen objected, saying that the Committee should meet to discuss the applications before making recommendations. The Executive Board agreed. The Committee will meet for this purpose on April 9, 11:30 a.m., in the OGB.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John Clendenning, Secretary