(Approved, January 10, 2018)

Board Members Present: Daniel Blake, Pamela Bourgeois, John Clendenning, Catherine Jeppson, Robert Kiddoo, Ronald McIntyre, Patrick Nichelson, Karen Robinette, Phyllis Russell, Diane Schwartz, Barbara Swerkes, Eugene Turner.

Board Members Excused: Sharon Klein, Ann Perkins, Cindy Ventuleth.

Monthly Business:

- 1. **Call to Order:** President Patrick Nichelson called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m. at the Orange Grove Bistro at CSUN.
- 2. Adoption of Agenda: MSP to adopt the agenda as distributed.
- 3. Approval of Minutes of Oct. 11, 2017: MSP to approve the minutes.
- 4. President's Announcements:
 - a. President Nichelson urged Board Members to encourage fellow retirees to join or renew their memberships in ARF and ERFA. He stressed that ERFA is a particularly worthwhile organization since it represents our interest at every level of the CSU. The ERFA Newsletter contains valuable information.
 - Rex and Rie Mitchell have suggested that we form an ARF Wine Group. Board Members encouraged President Nichelson to pursue the matter.
 - Nancy Owens has resigned as chair of the Awards
 Committee. Phyllis Russell has agreed to succeed Nancy as Chair.
- 5. Board Members Announcements: no announcements.

Reports:

- Treasurer: Dan Blake presented the monthly Treasurer's Report. He noted that (1) our CD is generating healthy interest income and (2) since we are currently in a dues-collecting phase, our current income is higher than our expenses. MSP to approve the Treasurer's Report.
- 2. Program Chair: Ron McIntyre led a discussion of pending issues.
 - a. For entertainment at the Annual Banquet, the committee hopes to secure the service of Fritz Coleman, NBC, weatherman, announcer, and standup comedian.
 (Update, 11/19/17: Unfortunately Fritz Coleman is not available on January 13. Ron continues his search for appropriate entertainment.)
 - b. The Field Trip on April 11 will be at the Gene Autry Museum in Griffith Park. Efforts to visit JPL or the Huntington Library did not work out.
 - c. For next year's speakers, the Program Committee is considering Robert Gohstand, George Holland, Robert Chianese, Harry Hellenbrand, and Martin Pousson.
 Board Members were encouraged to suggest others to Ron via email.
 - Next year, following the demolition of the Orange Grove
 Bistro, the Program Committee is considering holding
 Speaker Events at the Los Angeles Mid-Valley Regional
 Library.
- Membership Chair. Diane Schwartz submitted the report. So far we have 233 new or renewed memberships for the 2017-2018 year. Bob Kiddoo noted that our membership continues to decline slowly and that we need to redouble efforts to attract and retain new

members. Dan Blake suggested that we should post our current membership on the ARF Website.

- 4. **Newsletter (***ARF Notes***) Editor:** No report. Board Members praised the quality of *ARF NOTES* under Ann's editorship.
- 5. Historian. No report.
- 6. **Webmaster:** Gene Turner reported that some members have complained that they did not find expected updates at the ARF website. In nearly all cases this was due to loading earlier versions of the pages from files stored on their web browser. The problem can be resolved by refreshing a desired page by pressing a curved arrow next to the url window at the top of the screen or by periodically deleting their browsing history (under Internet Options Windows).
- 7. CSUN Faculty Senate Representative: Barbara Swerkes submitted a report of the CSUN Faculty Senate Meeting, October 26, 2017. Widespread interest in Executive Orders 1100 (Revised) and 1110 prompted an unprecedented attendance at this meeting. Primarily at issue was the status of Section F: Comparative Cultural Studies in the CSUN General Education Program. President Harrison announced that she has worked out an agreement with the Chancellor that Section F will be retained on this campus on the condition that transfer students with an ADT or an AA degree will not be required to earn extra units for graduation and that 48 units will be the maximum requirement in General Education. Chris Miller, Chair of the CSU Academic Senate, stated that nearly all of the campus senates have registered their objections to the Executive Orders. These objections include (1) their content, (2) the process, and (3) the lack of faculty participation in shared governance. Dr. Miller noted the formation of a Statewide General Education Task Force. She also noted that the ASCSU and 22 of 23 campus senates and, separately, campus senate chairs have requested a delay of implementation of EO 1100. A lengthy and heated discussion followed these

presentations, and finally the CSUN Faculty Senate passed resolutions to the effect that (1) the Faculty Senate will not participate in the implementation of these Executive Orders and (2) the principle of shared governance requires that faculty and students be participants in present and future formulations of policies pertaining to General Education in the CSU.

Old Business: President Nichelson proposed the formation of an Executive Board Task Force: ARF Contingency Planning 2017-2020. Nominated to serve on this Task Force: Daniel Blake (Chair), Robert Kiddoo, Cathy Jeppson, Ronald Mcintyre, Patrick Nichelson, and (agreement pending) Heidi Wolfbauer. **MSP** to approve the formation of this Task Force

New Business:

- Dan Blake proposed that we open a "box" for storing Treasurer's Reports electronically. Other ARF documents— Minutes. etc.—could be archived in the same way. MSP to authorize Dan to proceed with this plan.
- 2. **MSP** (unanimous) to approve the following commendation:

The Executive Board of the CSUN Association of Retired Faculty congratulates Colin Donahue, Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer, on his being awarded CFO of the Year, Government/Public Sector, by the 'Los Angeles Business Journal' and 'The San Fernando Valley Business Journal.'

The Board also gratefully acknowledges Vice President Donahue's many years of intelligent and collaborative stewardship as CSUN's major planner. Colin and his *fine* *team* embody a value that university professionals treasure: honest, open collegiality.

We salute Colin and his administrative partners. We also send our best wishes to Colin and his family.

Daniel Blake Pamela Bourgeois John Clendenning Catherine Jeppson Robert Kiddoo Sharon Klein Ronald McIntyre Patrick Nichelson Ann Perkins Karen Robinette Phyllis Russell Diane Schwartz Barbara Swerkes Eugene Turner Cindy Ventuleth

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, John Clendenning, Secretary

The Next Meeting of the Executive Board will be Wednesday, January 10, 2018, at the CSUN Orange Grove Bistro.