## California State University, Northridge

Faculty Committee on Extended Learning Annual Report August, 2021 – June, 2022

## Mission

The Faculty Senate Standing Committee on Extended Learning studies the policy areas and makes recommendations affecting continuing education.

Extended Learning Committee 18111 Nordhoff Street Northridge, CA 91330-8221

Nazaret Dermendjian (Civil Eng & Construct Mgt) Senate Executive Committee Liaison 818-677-2166 nazaret.dermendjian@csun.edu

Me'Laine Pemberton Hanna Administrative Support 818-677-6775 melaine.pemberton@csun.edu

## **Membership**

This committee shall consist of twelve members: nine members elected, one each by and from the eight other Colleges and the Library; two members elected by the Senate; and one member appointed by the President of the University.

# Faculty Senate Committee on Extended Learning 2021 - 2022 Roster

Committee Member	Term	Department / College	Phone	Mail Code	Office	<b>Email</b> (@CSUN.edu)	
Liu, Li	2019-22	Computer Science E&CS	7802	8295	JD 4443	Lliu	
Shen, Yannan	2019-22	Mathematics S&M	2721	8313		yannan.shen	
Blakey, Elizabeth	2020-23	Department of Journalism AMC	3438	8311		Elizabeth.blakey	
Ding, Yi	2020-23	University Library	3916	8327	OV 327	Yi.ding	
Duarte, Stephen	2020-23	Health Sciences HHD	5254	8285	JD 3350	stephen.duarte	
Eslami, Seyed Pouyan	2020-23	Accounting & Info Sys B&E	2461	8372		Seyed.eslami	
Garcia, Monica	2020-23	Secondary Education EDUC	4999	8265	ED 2130	Monica.g.garcia	
Katz, Gary	2021-24	Psychology S&B	2964	8255	ST 326	Gary.katz	
Watson, Tim	2021-24	Modern & Classic Languages & Literatures HUM	5797	8247	ST 420	Tim.watson	
Joyce Feucht-Haviar (Dean, Extended Learning; Ex-officio, Non-voting)			4711	8365	BK 220	joyce.feucht-haviar	
Senate Appointees							
Choudhary, Debi Prasad	2021-24	Physics & Astronomy S&M	7113	8268	EH 2108	debiprasad.choudhary	
Eng-Ziskin, Susanna	2021-24	University Library	4679	8327	UL 102D	susanna.eng	
Presidential Appointee							
Sawyer, Mirna	2021-22	Health Sciences HHD	3101	8285	JD 2544	Mirna.sawyer	

Senate Executive Committee liaison: Nazaret Dermendjian, Civil Eng & Construct Mgt (x2166,nazaret.dermendjian@csun.edu)

Administrative Support Fall 2021: Me'Laine Pemberton Hanna (x6775, <a href="melaine.pemberton@csun.edu">melaine.pemberton@csun.edu</a>)
Administrative Support Spring 2022: Me'Laine Pemberton Hanna (x6775, <a href="melaine.pemberton@csun.edu">melaine.pemberton@csun.edu</a>)

## **Meetings**

#### 2021 - 2022 Meeting Dates

All meetings were held via Zoom.

September 22, 2021	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	(Orientation meeting)
October 20, 2021	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	,
November 17, 2021	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	
December 15, 2021	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	(Optional meeting)
February 16, 2022	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	
March 16, 2022	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	
April 20, 2022	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	
May 11, 2022	Wednesday	3:15 - 5:00 pm	(Optional meeting)

The optional December meeting was held to discuss a policy item and the optional May meeting was cancelled since there were no programs to review or other business to consider other than the election of the new chair.

Dean Joyce Feucht-Haviar met with the committee chair approximately two weeks prior to every meeting to plan the agendas.

### Major Items of Consideration

Orientation to Tseng College:

The impact of COVID 19 on Extended Learning, Digital Overview Document, Self-Support in the CSU System, the MOU Template and the 2020/21 Graphic Report, Graduation Rates for 2019/2020, Big Book where the College Goals are listed, division of academic affairs, and programs in development

Overview and discussion of Tseng College components:

- Data Projects for the College
- o New Program Proposal for the Facilitation in Lesson Study
- Tseng College Distance Learning instructional design/strategy approach for fully online programs
- CSU5 ReLAY Institute
- The impact of Russian Ukraine War on international education globally and reflections on the impact of changing global context on US policies and CSUN

Items and Topics considered throughout the year:

- 1. Distance Learning Team presentation
- Market Strategy presentation
- Business Operations and Finance presentation
- E-Learning Technology
- 2. Proposal for modification to Certificate of Advanced Professional Development Policy—presented to Graduate Studies Committee, February and March 2022
- 3. The Faculty Technology Champions Initiative
- 4. Leave approval for Yannan Shen
- 5. Election of the Committee Chair for 2020-2021 Elizabeth Blakey

Respectfully submitted, Yi Ding, Chair

Faculty Senate Committee on Extended Learning, 2021-2022