

Memorandum

Office of Faculty Affairs

Date: December 10, 2024

To: Department Chairs

Non Jughans

From: Christina von Mayrhauser (¹ Interim Associate Vice President, Faculty Affairs

Subject: Candidates for Emeritus Status

Section 650.3.2 of the <u>Administrative Manual</u> describes the method by which faculty members who have retired (or are about) to retire can be granted Emeritus Status. Faculty eligible for nomination are encouraged to self-nominate (or be nominated) using the new Emeritus Nomination form available on the Faculty Affairs website at the following link: <u>http://www.csun.edu/faculty-affairs/forms</u>. The form applies to both Tenure-line and Lecturer faculty who meet the criteria. Faculty Early Retirement

Program (FERP) faculty are eligible in the semester in which FERP is completed.

<u>NOTE</u>: This year, all nominations (this form and two attachments) must be submitted to the Office of Faculty Affairs by the deadline of **January 24, 2025**, or earlier. Any nominations received by the department directly should be forwarded to Faculty Affairs for an initial eligibility check.

Following are the pertinent deadlines:

January 24 (Fri.) or earlier – Emeritus status faculty nominations are due to the Office of Faculty Affairs (<u>faculty.affairs@csun.edu</u>) for an initial eligibility check.

Week of January 27 – Applications forwarded to department for review.

<u>February 25 (Tues.) or earlier</u> – Departments will forward all faculty Emeritus status nominations accompanied by written recommendations to the College Dean.

<u>March 18 (Tues.) or earlier</u> – College Deans will forward all faculty Emeritus status nominations, Department Committee recommendations, and the Dean's recommendations to the Office of Faculty Affairs for review by the Personnel Planning and Review Committee.

Please note that the short biography of 200 words or less that is part of the nomination may be used in an event program to honor the faculty member. Please contact Faculty Affairs at ext. 2962 or by email (faculty.affairs@csun.edu) with any questions.

cc: President Erika D. Beck Provost Meera Komarraju Vice President William Watkins College Deans Faculty President Chair, Personnel Planning and Review Committee