CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, NORTHRIDGE EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF MEETING <u>5/14/2024</u>	APPROVED BY COMMITTEE_	<u>9/10/24</u>
Sub. To Exec. Comm. 9/23/24	Approved by Exec. Comm.	
Sub. To Acad. Senate	Approved by Acad. Senate	
POLICY ITEMS		_

Members Present:

David Boyajian, Krystle Cronin (recording), Yi Ding, Callie Juarez (non-voting), Lesley Krane, Katherine Stevenson, Holli Tonyan, Yarma Velazquez, Tadeh Zirakian

Not present:

Greg Knotts, Christian Tedeschi

Call to Order

The virtual meeting was called to order at 2:15 p.m. by K. Stevenson

1. Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved with no objections. MSP (Velazquez/Zirakian).

2. Approval of the ERC Meeting Minutes of April 9, 2024

The minutes were approved from the April 9, 2024 meeting with one abstention. MSP (Velzaquez/Stevenson)

3. High-Performance Computing

W. Smith reported on faculty/staff that need more terabytes due to high data storage throughout the campus. These needs exceed the regular computer that is provided by academic affairs.

CSU Northridge has free access to the Nautilus supercomputing system, which is managed by UC San Diego. However, as usage grows, additional funding will be required for labor and capital expenses to support supercomputing and managing large data sets.

Email either Zack Hilbrunner or Wayne Smith to gain access to Nautilus.

4. Ad hoc Committee on Online Programs

J. Stallcup reported on increasing campus-wide interest in developing state-supported, fully online programs, particularly at the graduate level.

An ad hoc committee is being established to develop guidelines and structures for departments pursuing state-supported, fully online programs. This committee will focus on administrative processes for online programs, excluding curricular decisions. Departments or colleges intending to launch an online program will need to obtain state authorizations independently, as securing these authorizations is the responsibility of each department, not the ad hoc committee.

Proposed committee members: Vice Provost, a dean, an associate vice president for undergraduate studies, an associate vice president for graduate studies, a colleague from faculty affairs, an associate dean, a department chair, and various faculty.

Proposed charge: The committee is going to develop guidelines and structures for departments seeking to develop fully online programs, and will also be a central hub for all questions/concerns that arise across the university regarding state-side online programs.

Questions/comments brought up by the committee:

- Is this for new programs or existing programs?
- What is the impact on the college's online policies for teaching as some colleges have limits on how many online course faculty can teach?
- Will there be a directed self-placement for students to identify if they are good candidates for online learning?
- Will the department be required to show the impact of the cost of switching?
- Will it be required for faculty to have training before they can be assigned these online courses?

5. Chair's Report

Review the annual report.

6. Executive Secretary's Report

C. Juarez reported on the May budget revision, which alters the deferral proposal to grant the CSU a 2% ongoing state funding increase in the 2025-2026 fiscal year. Further details will be discussed at the <u>UPBG</u> meeting.

This summer, the Office of Academic Resources and Planning will collaborate with colleges on <u>room allocations</u> to ensure equitable distribution and timely reallocation of spaces.

7. Annual Report

The committee reviewed the annual report, incorporating edits and priorities for the 2024-2025 academic year. The report was approved unanimously. MSP (Tonyan/Krane).

8. Classroom Safety Issues

H. Tonyan expressed concerns about the safety of large lecture halls, noting that the inability to lock doors from the inside and the bolted furniture could endanger students and faculty during an active shooter situation.

The Office of Academic Resources and Planning will review the large lecture halls and their ability to lock from the inside.

9. Chair nominations and Election

G. Knotts and Y. Velaquez both self-nominated. Following an anonymous poll, Yarma Velaquez was elected as chair for the 2024-2025 academic year.

10. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:24 p.m.